Fpik mielieland 1 crp
Southern African Society for Plant Pathology
Advancing Agriculture in Southern Africa

Other awards received by members of the SASPP

2022 - Honorary Doctorate from the University of the Free State

Prof. Mike Wingfield

UFS awarded five honorary doctorates during their April 2022 graduation ceremony.

The other recipients are Justice Albie Sachs (former justice in the Constitutional Court of South Africa), Judge Dennis Davis (former Judge President at the Competition Appeal Court), Ms Winnie Byanyima (Executive Director of the United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS [UNAIDS] and Deputy Secretary General of the United Nations),  former Deputy Chief Justice Dikgang Moseneke.

2022 - Harry Oppenheimer Fellowship Award

Prof. Mike Wingfield

The award was initiated by the Oppenheimer Memorial Trust in 2000 to commemorate the Trust’s founder, Harry Oppenheimer, and especially his efforts to support human and intellectual development as well as to advance scholarship. The R2m award is ranked as one of Africa’s most prestigious research grants.

2022 - M.T. Steynprys

Prof. Lise Korsten

Die M.T. Steynprys word jaarliks toegeken aan ʼn persoon vir sy/haar skeppende bydrae tot die ontginning, organisasie en volgehoue uitbouing van die natuurwetenskap en/of die tegnologie (of ʼn vertakking of vertakkings daarvan) en die suksesvolle toepassing daarvan in breër verband, soos in landsbelang.

2021 - Junior Captain Scott Memorial Medal for Plant Sciences

Wilku Meyer

The Junior Captain Scott Memorial Medal for Plant Sciences is awarded every second year by the South African Academy for Science and Arts for the best MSc dissertation awarded at a South African university.

2021 - Chancellor Award: Research

Prof. Brenda Wingfield

The Chancellor Award: Research is awarded to a researcher in recognition of exceptional achievement in the field of research aimed at the advancement of science, and the associated promotion of the interests of the University of Pretoria.

2020 - NSTF Special Annual Theme Award: Plant Health

Prof. Mike Wingfield

This Special Annual Theme Awards was made in recognition of the International Year of Plant Health (2020) declared by the United Nations.

2020 - Havenga Prize for Natural Sciences

Prof. Bernard Slippers

The Havenga Prize, established in 1945, is awarded annually to recognise significant and original research in the natural sciences or related technical fields.